RSS

Online Dating Site Commentary!

13 Mar



If you’re like me and you’ve been single long enough to have tried 1, 2, 3 or more online dating sites, I’m sure you can commiserate with me and relate to some of my stories.  Now that I look back on my experiences, I can truly laugh about it all.  I will follow this blog post with a poll so you can vote on your favorite online dating sites (paid and free).   Here are a few of the sites that I have tried and my commentary to go along with each one! One of my craziest dating mishap stories follows!

  • Match.com – My experience is that this is more of a “hook up” and “networking” site than anything else.  The men I met on this site were interested primarily in hook ups, casual dating, casual sex etc… of course there are always exceptions to the rule.  I also think that you need to be clear as to what you want and what you’re looking for.  I like the fact that you can view profiles on this site and choose who you want to chat with.  There is also quite a bit of flexibility when it comes to building your profile page.   I do know couples that have met on this site and are now happily married, so anything is possible!
  • EHarmony – This site is one of the more expensive ones, and you really need the time to fill out their survey which takes approximately an hour.  I do know people that have met on this site and are in successful relationships.  What I didn’t like was that the site chooses who to match you up with based on your profile survey.  My problem with that is that you may be compatible based on your interests and personality; however that doesn’t necessarily mean that you are physically compatible.  I also found that the men on this site are generally a bit older than on some of the other sites, but they tend to be looking more for relationships than just casual dating.
  • SinglesNet – This is a free site that I stumbled on and decided to give it a whirl.  The quality on this site in my opinion is few and far between, but then again it is free.  There’s not much that you can do on this site when it comes to creating a profile.  Your options are bit narrow, but I have met a few quality guys on this site.

And now what you’ve been waiting for a mishap stories!  This story takes the cake!  I’m sure I’ll add more stories as I go, and I look forward to hearing yours too!

My Story!   I was actually contacted by a guy on Facebook (hence my 1st mistake)!  His profile picture looked good and we had been chatting via Facebook email for some time.  We finally decided to meet at Starbucks for a coffee one afternoon.  When he got out of the car to meet me, I didn’t recognize him.  I hadn’t looked at his picture on Facebook that day, so naturally I didn’t think anything of it.  But after closer examination, I realized that he was a redhead (as am I), but his hair was brown in his Facebook pic.  I asked him about it, and he replied, “Oh, that picture was taken back when I was in college.”  Despite the picture snafoo, I realized immediately that I wasn’t interested.  While sitting across the table from my date, he proceeds to ask me if he can “kiss me,” to see if there is any “chemistry” between us.  How bold can you get?  I said to him, “I don’t need to kiss you…I can tell perfectly fine from across the table that I’m not interested.”  It gets worse people!  Then he asks me if he can “go down on me!!!”  This is at Starbucks!  WTF?  Needless to say, that date was OVER!  It turns out that he lied about his name, and he used his friend’s name and picture on Facebook to try to lure in girls!  I certainly learned my lesson on that one!

I look forward to hearing your comments and stories too!


Bookmark and Share

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 13, 2010 in Funny, Sex & Dating

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “Online Dating Site Commentary!

  1. DateDaily

    March 13, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    You should give Mate1.com a try; it’s free for ladies and you may find what you’re looking for.

    Like

     
  2. Yaya

    March 13, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    I basically had the same sort of experience with 2 men from Match.com. After lunch, we walked back to my car and I got in behind the steering wheel and was pulled out of the car and slammed against his chest and he rubbed our chests together. It happened so quick and I was so mortified! What a jerk!! Needless to say, he was not a repeat date. Only 1 from Match.com was true to his picture and profile. He did neglect to mention that he was living out of his office instead of getting an apartment or buying a house! So no more Match.com matches!

    Like

     
  3. MissAmerica19Never

    March 14, 2010 at 11:09 am

    That is crazy!! I go to Starbucks for good coffee , but Bad dates would make me cry Foul!! Oh Red!! You should write a book!

    Like

     
  4. Ross

    March 16, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    Thanks for the well written piece. I think the sad part is that there are assholes (both men and women) on all dating sites.

    There are issues though with both the daters themselves and with the sites. Match.com for example advertises 15 million users, but only 1.4 million paying users. (non-paying users can’t send or receive emails). Most paid sites function in the same way. Imagine sending out emails to cute guys or girls and wondering why you’re never hearing back from them… well, they might not have even gotten your email.

    As for the honesty, since the dawn of the online dating industry, men and women have lied. It’s sad, but then again, I hear guys lie when you meet them at bars as well. There are some services that offer “badges” that prove you are who you say you are… I’m looking into integrating some of that — as well as the ability to report those that lie — on our site.

    I love posts like this one, as it helps me try to refine the product we’re going to offer. I think it makes sense for a dating site to charge — but they should charge everyone a reasonable price.

    I look forward to reading more comments.

    Like

     
    • kckool

      March 16, 2010 at 2:41 pm

      Ross,

      Thank you so much for your well-written comments! What I shared in my blog post was my “scariest” online dating experience to date. I too hope to receive more comments, and I hope that this will lend some traffic to your website. Thanks for your support!

      KCKool

      Like

       
  5. Kelly

    March 26, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    That blows! I heard FB was actually a pretty decent way to meet guys, but come to think of it…the only requests I got were from guys named “Tink” or “Bubba”. Anyway, I had pretty good luck with Chemistry…it’s like eHarmony in terms of people being more serious about finding a relationship, but a bigger pool to choose from. There are a few crazies on every site, so you just have to move on.
    xo

    Like

     
    • kckool

      March 26, 2010 at 4:30 pm

      Kelly,

      Thanks so much for your comments. Really? Tink or Bubba? Hilarious! I’ve never tried Chemistry, but I’ve heard good things. Dating sites are the way of the future…

      KCKool 🙂

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
